Los Carpinteros

Alexandre Arrechea (b. Trinidad, 1970)

MARCO CASTILLO (b. Camagüey, 1971)

DAGOBERTO RODRIGUEZ (b. Caibarién, 1969)

Los Carpinteros was founded in 1991 by Alexandre Arrechea, Marco Castillo, and Dagoberto Rodriguez. Altough Arrechea left the group in 2003, Los Carpinteros continued as a duo. Their name is a reference to old guilds of artisans and skilled laborers, renouncing the notion of individual authorship. Marco Castillo and Dagoberto Rodriguez graduated from the Superior Institute of Art in 1994. They have participated in three editions of the Havana Biennial (1991, 1994, and 2000), as well as the Venice Biennial (2005), the Sao Paulo Biennial (2002), the Shanghai Biennial (2002) and other events worldwide. Los Carpinteros' works are part of the collections of the National Museum of Fine Arts in Havana, Cuba; the Museum of Modern Art, the Guggenheim Museum, and the Whitney Museum of American Art, all in New York City; the Centre Georges Pompidou in Paris, France; the Daros Foundation in Zürich, Switzerland; the Hirshhorn Museum and Sculpture Garden in Washington, DC; the Ludwig Forum für Internationale Kunst in Aachen, Germany; the Museo Nacional Centro de Arte Reina Sofia, Madrid, Spain; the Thyssen-Bornemisza Contemporary Art Foundation, Vienna, Austria; the Musee d'Art Contemporain in Montreal, Canadá; the Museum of Contemporary Art, Los Angeles, California; and the Tate Modern, in London, United Kingdom. They received the Distinction for National Culture in 2002, granted by the Cuban Ministry of Culture, and the UNESCO Prize for the Promotion of the Arts in 2000.

Selected Works